Sonic Rush is a game that frustrates me and certain points, and it’s not necessarily the game’s fault.

You see, Sonic Rush had a huge influence on future console Sonic games. Rush is the first game to give Sonic the Boost ability, something that carried over to Sonic Unleashed, Colors and Generations. In addition, a lot of the game design mentality that can be found in Rush is also present in the aforementioned games. Unleashed and Generations are some of my favorite games of all time, and as such I’ve played countless hours of them. I know those game’s levels, mechanics and controls by heart, and that’s where my major problem with Rush comes from.

Muscle memory is an amazing thing. It doesn’t matter how long I go without playing Unleashed or Generations, everything I know about those games comes back to me the moment I pick up the controller. However, muscle memory can also have an adverse effect when it comes to playing older games, in this case, Sonic Rush. As I said before, Sonic Rush is the first game to employ the Boost formula for the Sonic series. And as can be expected, it lacks the refinements that were made in later games. Again, this isn’t the game’s fault. I mean how fair would it be to criticize the game for improvements that were made in later installments? It’s just hard to ignore these thing when playing the game.

I’m in the process of writing a review for Sonic Rush, and as I’m putting all of my notes together, it is really hard to not talk about features from games like Sonic Unleashed. Sonic Rush lacks 3 things that have gone on to really improve the Boost formula- the Stomp, Air Boost, and a fully implemented Homing Attack. But these features not being present in the game does not stop me from trying to do them, which normally results in my death, (again, muscle memory is a crazy thing). I won’t be holding these things against Rush in the review, I just felt the thoughts I was having about it and its influence on later installments was worth mentioning.

Have you ever thought about Sonic Rush and its impact on later games that use the Boost formula? Well let me know in the comments, and be sure to follow me on Twitter to stay updated on future posts. Thanks for reading, and be sure to have an awesome day!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sonic Rush And It’s Influence On Future Sonic Games

  1. Great post. I actually haven’t played Sonic Rush, but I’ve played the others. Respectable that you don’t want to criticize the game for introducing a new tool that actually advances and becomes better in future games.

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the sister site to MoviePilot.com, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! tyler@nowloading.co

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

