After months and months of anticipation, I finally have Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End in my PlayStation 4. At the time of this writing, I just completed the 7th chapter, and man this is quite the game. To be perfectly honest, I didn’t really think a whole lot about Uncharted 4 up until about the end of April. For starters, I wasn’t really keeping up with trailers and previews for the game, I wanted to go in as fresh and blind as possible. Second, I’ve been playing a lot of other games leading up to this one. Ultimate Ninja Storm 4, Fire Emblem Fates and the Generation 1 Pokemon games all hit in February. These, (and a few older games) kept me occupied until April, when Ratchet & Clank came out. Quick aside, Ratchet & Clank is an amazing game and you should play it. So needless to say, I’ve been a busy gamer.

The Uncharted trilogy on PlayStation 3, (haven’t played Golden Abyss, I hear it’s awesome though) are high-octane, globe trotting, character driven adventure games. While all of those sound like very cliché buzzword terms, they really are the best ways to describe the games. Specifically, the part about them being very character driven. One thing I’ve learned about myself and the stories I like in the past year, is that many of them are ripe with interesting characters with engaging stories and relationships. Uncharted is definitely no slouch in that department. Nate, Elena and of course Victor “Sully” Sullivan, these characters and their adventures always keep me coming back. The character interactions and developments in Uncharted 4 are endearing to say the least.
Being the last NaughtyDog developed Uncharted, the game’s early hours are filled with callbacks to years worth of adventures. Callbacks which you will only pick up on if you’ve experienced the other games. Another quick aside, ABSOLUTELY DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME IF YOU HAVE NOT PLAYED THE OTHERS. But anyways, there is not a whole lot more I can say without spoiling either this game or one of the PS3 games, I will say that Uncharted 4 is definitely a feels trip. There have been a number of times in my current playthrough where I saw myself sitting in my room back in high school playing one of the earlier games. As I’m writing this in the wee hours of the night, I’m anxious to get back to Nate’s last hurrah. But, I am certainly in no rush to hurry through the game. I want to take my time with this one, and savor the experience. After all, I have a feeling I won’t be playing a game like this for a long time. Thanks for checking out my blog, and be sure to keep coming back for more content every Monday and Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

